Just Do Something: Review

Author: Kevin DeYoung
Pages: 120 pages
Genre: Christian Living
Release Date: April 1, 2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Kevin DeYoung’s Just Do Something: A Liberating Approach to Finding God’s Will is a quick, practical read that most practicing Christians, both young and old, should scan through.

What is God’s will for my life? It is the foreboding question all of us Christ followers ask ourselves. Do I take this job? Do I marry this person? Do I get bread or pasta at the grocery store? (Neither… you should get green veggies instead- but that’s the health nut in me yelling at you.) What if I step outside of God’s will?

The gist of DeYoung’s book is: calm down, follow Jesus, and do stuff.

As ridiculous as the latter example was, it is the way most Christians today approach their decisions. With good intentions (to please God), the only real command God gives us is to seek holiness. If we are pursuing a relationship with the Lord and seeking to live like Him then we are in God’s will. He doesn’t imply that God doesn’t care about our decisions, but rather that we need to stop using God’s will as an excuse to sit around and wait for things to fall into our lap. We don’t need writing in the sky or a bible verse that jumps off at us out of the page (not bad things), but that we just need to start taking steps (that align with God’s stamp of approval…. being a Playboy model probably would not be one of those things) and He’ll show up and guide us as we move forward.

While I believe this is an excellent message and I 100% agree with the points DeYoung had to make, I was left disappointed with the content of this book. I felt like I could get most of DeYoung’s wisdom from the title of the book and I would have liked to see it expanded a little more or to see some practical examples, rather than continually stating this core message over and over in each chapter. There were various paragraphs that had wads of wisdom, but overall I think this would have been better suited as an article. Despite this, it was still well-written and I’d recommend all Christians to give it a glance, especially those trying to make some sort of decision.

Leave a Reply

